Caribbean and Central America
Middle East
Africa and Indian Ocean

About Vanuatu

Vanuatu is an archipelago of Islands in the South Pacific Ocean. Vanuatu is made up of 80 plus volcanic islands of which only 65 are inhabited. The total population on the island is 221,506. The Capital of Vanuatu is Port Vila and is located on the Island of Efate. The official language of the Republic of Vanuatu is Bislama but English and French are also spoken. The Vatu is the currency of Vanuatu.

French and British had claims on the islands which made up Vanuatu and at one point the two powers reached an agreement to administer the islands together and this was known as the British- French Condominium. Vanuatu gained independence in 1980 and today has a parliamentary democracy. The president is the head of the country and is elected every five years and the prime minister heads the government and that individual is elected by majority vote of the parliament (three thirds or more).

The economy of Vanuatu is based mainly on these sectors: tourism, financial services, agriculture and agriculture (cattle rising). Agriculture provides employment and incomes for majority of the population of Vanuatu. The export of cocoa and cattle contributes greatly to the economy. Vanuatu is a tax haven and offers offshore services which generate income for the country. Vanuatu offers an offshore company, similar to other jurisdictions like Belize company, which has attracted many investors to the country. Vanuatu has a number of natural attractions including waterfalls, reefs, Flora and fauna. Tourism is one of the leading sectors and many visitors visit Vanuatu each year. Hotels in Vanuatu provide accommodations at low costs. The country has a few top resorts in Vanuatu and hotels providing accommodations with modern amenities.