Caribbean and Central America
Middle East
Africa and Indian Ocean

About Liberia

Liberia is located in West Africa and borders with Sierra Leone which lies to the western side of Liberia. The official language spoken in Liberia is English while more that 30 ethnic languages make the linguistic landscape of Liberia very diverse.

Liberia has a population of nearly four million people and a total area of approximately 43,000 miles². Liberia has a climate which is hot and equatorial, with the months running from May to October being the rainiest.

The structure of government in Liberia is based on that of the United States. Liberia is thus a unitary constitutional republic as well as a representative democracy. The Constitution of Liberia sets the principles of the country. Liberia has a president, who has the role of head of state, head of government and commander in chief. Liberia was one of the countries which was involved in establishing the United Nations.

The majority of people living in Liberia are Christians. Other religious beliefs include Muslim, Hinduism, Sihk and Buddhism, as well as many other traditional native religions. The freedom to practice ones faith is enshrined in the Constitution. Liberia has a very rich culture and heritage and is known for unique textile designs and arts and quilting. The biggest cities in Liberia include Morovia, Kakata, Voinjama, Buchanan, Greenville and Gbarnga, to name a few. Monrovia in Liberia has the largest population.

Liberia is considered to be one of the advanced nations in the Sub-Saharan region, in addition to Ethiopia. Advancement in Liberia started sometime in the 1940’s which was the period of the World War II. Modernization of Liberia was promoted through the United States as a result of investments made during the war period. In 1980 the Liberian government which consisted of Americans and Liberians was overthrown by a military coup; this lead to a period of unrest both politically and economically, including two civil wars.

Government in Liberia has three branches, namely the executive, the legislative and the judicial branch. The head of the executive branch of Government in Liberia is the President, while the legislature has two chambers, namely, the House of Representatives and the Senate. The judiciary comprises the lower courts and the Supreme Court.