Caribbean and Central America
Middle East
Africa and Indian Ocean

About Cyprus

Cyprus is officially the Republic of Cyprus. Cyprus is located to the south of Turkey towards the eastern part of the Mediterranean. Cyprus is one of the largest islands in the Mediterranean and Cyprus total land area is 100 km wide and 240 km long. Lebanon and Syria are found east of Cyprus.

The United Kingdom colonized Cyprus is 1925, but Cyprus became independent in 1960.T he president was a Greek Archbishop and a Turk became vice-president. Cyprus has a rich history and cultural background which is over 9000 years old. Greek temples, mosaics built by the Romans and wall paintings from the 15th century are proof of Cyprus heritage. Lacework, basket weaving, tapestry and pottery and actively practiced by Cypriots even today.

In May 2004, Cyprus became a Member State of the European Union, after having first applied in 1990 for membership. Bilateral relations had already begun in 1972 between Cyprus and the European Union. An Agreement was signed in 1972 to ratify this and in 1987, a Protocol was also signed.

Cyprus has six administrative districts, namely Nicosia, Limassol, Kyrenia, Pafos, Ammochostos and Larnaca. Long ago, Nicosia in Cyprus was called Ledra and was under Byzantine rule during the fourth century. Limassol is located between Curium and Amathus in Cyprus and is marked in the history of Cyprus as having played a major role in termination Byzantine rule in Cyprus.

In the 10th millennium human settlement seemed to have had already begun in Cyprus. Because of Cyprus history, a number of areas in Cyprus have the status of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Part of this is due to the proof of Greek mythology found in Cyprus. For example, Cyprus is considered to be the place where Aphrodite and Adonis, who are important personalities in Greek mythology, were born.

Two thirds of the southern side of Cyprus falls under governance of the Republic of Cyprus. This part of Cyprus was accepted worldwide formally as the governing administration. The northern side, however, falls is administered by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Plus, there are bases which are located in Akrotiri and Dhekelia that are administered by the British. Cyprus has a buffer zone, the Green Line, which occupies about 2.6% of Cyprus. This buffer zone in Cyprus was set up by order of the United Nations to insert a division between the part of Cyprus which is administered by the Turks and the side under Cypriot rule.